Minnesota (MN) CPA Exam requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the CPA Exam and then licensed by the state. A candidate becomes eligible for the CPA Exam by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the Michigan CPA Exam requirements:

Minnesota CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the CPA Exam? No
  • Baccalaureate (accounting concentration)
  • 24 semester hours of accounting and 24 hours in business related courses
  • May sit for exam with lessor or no degree if qualifying experience requirements are satisfied
  • 1 year experience plus 150 hours is required to be granted certificate
  • Need 150 hours to be granted certificate but do not need 150 to sit for exam
  • Candidates may apply for the exam 180 days prior to completing educational requirements
  • Candidates will receive “provisional” approval to take the CPA exam 90 days prior to completing educational requirements
  • Educational requirements must be completed no later than 120 days after the actual date the candidate took the first exam section
  • Be a resident, be regularly employed, or working in Minnesota within 90 days preceding or following the examination.

Minnesota CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: 18

Minnesota CPA Exam Residency Requirements

  • U.S. Citizenship Required: No
  • Must be a resident, employee OR have office in the state? No

Application Process

  1. Review the exam requirements
  2. Submit the exam application and enroll in your Surgent CPA Review course
  3. Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to CPA Examination Services for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems with your application being processed, now is a great time to start studying with Surgent CPA Review.
  4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months.
  5. Schedule your exam. Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Duluth, Edina, Rochester, Woodbury or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.

Minnesota CPA Application Process

Minnesota CPA Application Forms

Minnesota CPA Statutes

Minnesota CPA Exam FAQs



State CPA Society

Minnesota CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $190

Audit: $193.45

Financial: $193.45

Regulation: $173.60

Business: $173.60

Total: $924.10

Other fees: Re-exam registration fee $115 regardless of the number of parts requested.