Massachusetts (MA) CPA Exam requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the CPA Exam and then licensed by the state. A candidate becomes eligible for the CPA Exam by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the various Massachusetts CPA Exam requirements:
Massachusetts CPA Exam Education Requirements
- Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
- 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the CPA Exam? No
- Completion of 120 semester hours (180 quarter hours) of credits from a nationally or regionally accredited college or university
- Have 21 accounting credits including coverage in financial accounting, audit, management accounting, and taxation and have 9 business credits including coverage in business law, finance and information systems
- Have completed all requirements for the conferral of a bachelor’s degree
- Candidates must meet the 150 hour requirement within 3 years from the date of passing all four parts or they will be required to retake the CPA Exam.
Massachusetts CPA Exam Age Requirements
Age Minimum: 18
Massachusetts CPA Exam Residency Requirements
- U.S. Citizenship Required: No
- Must be a resident, employee OR have office in the state? No
- Review the exam requirements
- Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review
- Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to CPA Examination Services for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems in processing your application it is an excellent time to start studying with Surgent CPA Review.
- Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, the State Board will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third month is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.
- Schedule your exam. After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.
Key Exam Process Links for Massachusetts
Massachusetts CPA Exam Fees
Initial Application Fee: $195
Other fees: First-time applicants must pay an application fee and an exam fee at time of application. Re-examination candidates must pay an exam fee and a registration fee (amount varies from $117 for one part to $177 for four parts) at time of registration.